Skip to content

Starting thoughts…

June 22, 2009

Today marks a new day for me (actually, more so for this blog).

I’ve decided to share the chaotic web of random thoughts and ideas in my head, with you guys (whoever you may come to be).

Over the years of one’s life, there are always times when a person comes to some sort of realisation – whether subtle or grand – about themselves.

My revelation of sorts… is the fact that I have a lot of random thoughts in my head. My biggest challenge is and has always been focusing them and keeping things tight. Sometimes, things get too chaotic and I need to take a breather and organise my thoughts, focus my energies and get across the line.

It’s a blessing and a curse.

A blessing because I like having ideas. I like thinking and in turn, having those thoughts transformed into some sort of reality via actions. When these ideas are applicable to work related matters, I pursue them. If they work, fantastic! If they don’t… next!

The curse of it all is the fact that having a lot of ideas doesn’t necessarily translate to having lots of success. Worst still, things can get real messy without some sort of systematic organisation (and I’m really bad at being organised) in the way I choose to pursue these ideas; LIFS ie “Latest Idea First Serve”, as opposed to “First Idea First Serve”… I know, it’s a really bad system, if it can be called a system at all. It’s like multi-tasking without priorities. Bad… idea.

So, personally, I’m looking at this blog as an avenue for me to channel my thoughts and have it out in the open in some visual form… so I can have it staring back at me while I read it and think to myself (what was I thinking?). I think you some of you might get the idea. How often has a really ‘great idea in my head’ not sound so great once it’s out in the open?

Marrying imagination with reality is sometimes difficult, sometimes twisted, sometimes humourous and sometimes, full of potential. I’m hoping for a bias towards the lattermost possibility.

But, aside from having the ability to visually sift through a myriad of chaotic verses, I’m also going to use this blog as a repository for all my thoughts/ideas. Hopefully, this allows me to find someway of focusing my thoughts without the fear of losing track, or forgetting, any lesser thoughts.

Nothing’s fixed, though. If you’ve noted my self expressed problem, then you’ll probably be wary about whether this blog is my latest idea-in-pursuit just waiting to be superseded by something else come lunch time. Hopefully that won’t be the case.

I’ve named this blog “Thought Starters”. It’s a familiar phrase to me in my line of work and I think it’s very apt for what I’d like this blog to be about.

It’s going to be about thoughts and ideas that start conversations. Conversations make the world go round. Without the gift of communicating our thoughts with another living entity, the world would be a very different place than it is now…

So lets get started… after lunch.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

